DOERING, LAUBER

Ben Lauber

Ben Lauber, musician, composer, sound artist and producer, has devoted himself to contemporary music from analog to digital. In his music, sound installations and theatre music performances, he is shifting the boundary of the perception of reality between sound and music.

Together with Moses Schneider he founded Transporterraum berlin (1997), a musical community that produced a vast number of records. He is one of the founders and arrangers of the Berlin String Theory (2007), the Goeteborg String Theory (2009) and the Aachen String Theory (2011). Since 2005, he is associated with T.Raumschmiere, where he plays live drums and does electronics in studio. With Nicola Rost he developed the band Concept of Laing. In 2011 and 2012, he was on world tour with Apparat, operating synthesizer. Most recently he produced albums of Dieter Meier (Yello) and Fraktus and was part of the Photography Playground in 2014.

www.benlauber.com

Marcus Doering

Dr. Marcus Doering is a physicist who was awarded his PhD by the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society. For a number of years, he has been working on interactive adventures and the analysis, transmission and visualisation of camera movements.

After working as a researcher in Toronto and then as a project manager specialising in nanotech projects, in 2007 he took on a project by the Berlin-based design agency büro+staubach GmbH that built on his patented technology (co-developed with André Bernhardt) for projecting images onto moving objects. The technology was first used in the opera The Jew of Malta at the Munich Biennale in 2002.

Via their platform PMD-ART, Marcus and André have since carried out a number of pilot projects, including dance projects like the IFA opening gala in 2011, events like the BARCO partner meeting in Belgium, installations for the light shows Berlin Festival of Lights and Berlin Leuchtet and an exhibit at the Photography Playground 2014.

Based on this technology, since late 2015 Marcus has been developing complete solutions for theatre, shows and events at the company VISTAC GmbH with the support of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy.

 

On the Olympus Perspective Playgrounds Doering/Lauber shows/showed the following installation: “Resonant Space”

Cologne 2016, Barcelona and Copenhagen 2017: “Resonant Space”

“Resonant Space”  is an audio-visual, interactive realtime installation with a 3-wall-projection and a 8.1 channels audio.

A computer generated, self-transforming moving space, is projected on 3 sides of the room and mirrored on the ceiling. When the visitor enters the space the autogenerated projection changes to be a response to the visitor’s moves.

The music takes account of both, the self-generated room transformations and the visual “distortions” of the visitor’s movements. Like that the music itself always transforms to be something new.

The number and intensity of the people’s motions create a social sculpture: an audio-visual moment that is simultaneously perceived and shaped by visitors. It is a living and constantly changing work of art, surrounding the people in space, giving them a feeling of loss of perspectives and room definitions.

The visitors begin to be an active part of the exhibition, as their movements design the work and influence the way the room is perceived by other visitors. After exploring the art work for a while the visitors realize their representation through sound and projections.

Going on exploring in a playful way, they start creating a piece of music and designing new visuals.

“Resonant Space”  is a cooperation project between the musician and composer Ben Lauber and the physician Dr. Marcus Doering.

 

Copyright portraits Doering: Marcus Doering
Copyright portraits Lauber: Mike Brockschmidt
Copyright installations: Eva Offenberg, diephotodesigner.de, Alícía Rey Peroy

DOERING/LAUBER

Ben Lauber

Ben Lauber, Musiker, Komponist, Klangkünstler und Produzent, hat sich der zeitgenössischen Popmusik in ihrer analogen und digitalen Form verschrieben.

In seiner Musik, seinen Klanginstallationen und seinen Musiktheater-Performances verändert er die Grenzen der Wahrnehmung zwischen Klang und Musik. Zusammen mit Moses Schneider gründete er als musikalisches Gemeinschaftsprojekt das Tonstudio Transporterraum berlin (1997), das zahlreiche Aufnahmen produziert hat. Er ist einer der Gründer und Arrangeure der Musikprojekte Berlin String Theory (2007), Göteborg String Theory (2009) und Aachen String Theory (2011). Seit 2005 ist er mit T.Raumschmiere assoziiert, wo er live Schlagzeug spielt und die Elektronik im Studio übernimmt. Zusammen mit Nicola Rost entwickelte er die Gruppe Concept of Laing. 2011 und 2012 war er am Synthesizer mit Apparat auf Welttournee. In jüngerer Zeit produzierte er Alben von Dieter Meier (Yello) und Fraktus und beteiligte sich 2014 am Photography Playground.

www.benlauber.com

Marcus Doering

Dr. Marcus Doering, Max-Planck promovierter Physiker, widmet sich seit mehreren Jahren interaktiven Erlebniswelten, analysiert und übermittelt kamerabasierte Bewegungen und bildet diese visuell ab.

Nach Forschungsarbeiten in Toronto und Projektarbeit im Bereich der Nanotechnologie übernahm er 2007 ein Projekt des Designbüros der büro+staubach GmbH, Berlin, das auf der, mit André Bernhardt entwickelten und patentierten Technik der Projektion auf bewegte Objekte aufbaut, die erstmalig in der Oper Marlowe: Der Jude von Malta zur Münchener Biennale 2002 eingesetzt worden war.

Unter dem Namen PMD-ART haben Marcus Doering und André Bernhardt mittlerweile mehrere Pilotprojekte durchgeführt, u.a. Tanzprojekte, wie zur IFA Eröffnungsgala 2011, Events wie das Partnertreffen von BARCO in Belgien und Installationen für die Berliner Lichtfeierlichkeiten Festival of Lights, Berlin Leuchtet u.v.m., u.a. mit einer Arbeit beim Photography Playground 2014.

Auf Grundlage dieser Technologie entwickelt er seit Ende 2015 bei der VISTAC GmbH mit Unterstützung des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie Komplettlösungen für Theater, Shows und Events.

 

Auf den Olympus Perspective Playgrounds zeig(t)en Doering/ Lauber die Installation:

Köln 2016, Barcelona und Kopenhagen 2017: „Resonant Space“

„Resonant Space“ ist eine audiovisuelle, interaktive Echtzeitinstallation mit Projektion auf drei Wänden und einem 8.1-Kanal-Sound.

Ein computergenerierter beweglicher Raum, der sich selbst transformiert, wird auf drei Wände projiziert und an der Decke gespiegelt. Wenn der Besucher den Raum betritt, ändert sich die automatisch erzeugte Projektion und passt sich den Bewegungen des Besuchers an.

Beides fließt in die Musik ein: die eigenständig erzeugten Raumverwandlungen und die visuellen „Verzerrungen“ der Besucherbewegungen. Auf diese Weise entsteht immer wieder eine neue Musik.

Aus der Zahl und Intensität der menschlichen Bewegungen bildet sich eine soziale Skulptur: ein audiovisuelles Moment, das vom Besucher gleichzeitig wahrgenommen und geformt wird. Es ist ein lebendiges, ständig verändertes Kunstwerk, das die Personen in dem Raum umgibt und ihnen das Gefühl verleiht, Perspektive und Raumdefinitionen zu verlieren.

Die Besucher wird zum aktiven Teil der Ausstellung, wenn seine Bewegungen das Werk gestalten und die Art und Weise beeinflussen, wie andere Besucher den Raum wahrnehmen. Nachdem die Besucher das Kunstwerk eine Weile erkundet haben, erkennen sie, wie sie selbst durch Klang und Projektionen dargestellt werden.

Auf spielerische Weise können sie dann dazu übergehen, eine eigene Komposition zu erstellen und neue Bilder zu schaffen.

„Resonant Space“ ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Musikers und Komponisten Ben Lauber und des Physikers Dr. Marcus Döring.

Copyright Portraits Doering: Marcus Doering
Copyright Portraits Lauber: Mike Brockschmidt
Copyright Installationen: Eva Offenberg, diephotodesigner.de, Alícía Rey Peroy