HUMATIC

About Humatic

At Humatic, media artists & developers join forces to create audience reactive media systems & projects for stage, exhibitions & events in art and commercial context. The name – derived from HUman MAgnetics – points to the close link between audience & media, that Humatic’s technology can achieve. Humatic collaborates with institutions such as ZKM, Center for Art & Media, Karlsruhe and IRCAM, Centre Pompidou, Paris.

Their works have been shown worldwide, such as their media slot machine MindBox, that toured in Europe, US and Japan, or NMN NoMoreNukes, a hack-activism project, that simultaneously started in Taiwan, California, Germany, Mongolia and Japan. In 2013, the MNM media system premiered at Cynet Art Dresden and was shown at the Paris Nemo Festival.

Humatic’s Software libraries and apps are used in medical tech, TV, industries, recording-studios and many other fields. TouchDAW, a MIDI control app for Android, is used by thousands of audio professionals.

 

On the Olympus Perspective Playground in Cologne Humatic shows the installation:
EyeCatcher

The installation EyeCatcher celebrates the beauty and uniqueness of the human iris and reflects on the increasingly important role that systems which autonomously process biometric data play on a daily basis in modern industrialised societies.

Visitors look into a device that automatically photographs their irises, processes them and inputs them into a system that projects the cut-out images onto a large screen.

The oversized projection offers an unusual perspective on the eye and a perfect backdrop for selfies.

 

 

EyeCatcher media installation

Creators and participants:

Software development by Humatic

Design and production by Humatic

In collaboration with Nils Peters, Christian Graupner, Eva Pech, Moritz Mattern, Max Krueger and Peter Knabl

HUMATIC

Humatic ist ein Zusammenschluss von Medienkünstlern und Entwicklern, die publikumsreaktive Mediensysteme und Projekte für Bühne, Messen und Veranstaltungen im künstlerischen und kommerziellen Umfeld kreieren. Der Name – abgeleitet von HUman MAgnetics – verweist auf die enge Beziehung zwischen Publikum und Medien, die sich durch die Technologie von Humatic herstellen lässt. Humatic kooperiert mit Institutionen wie dem Zentrum für Kunst und Medien (ZKM) in Karlsruhe und dem Forschungszentrum für Akustik/Musik IRCAM, das dem Centre Pompidou in Paris angeschlossen ist.

Die Arbeiten von Humatic wurden weltweit gezeigt – so zum Beispiel die an Spielautomaten angelehnte Videoinstallation MindBox, die durch Europa, USA und Japan tourte, oder das Hackaktivismus-Projekt NMN NoMoreNukes, das gleichzeitig in Taiwan, Kalifornien, Deutschland, der Mongolei und Japan startete. 2013 hatte das Mediensystem MNM auf der Cynet Art Dresden Premiere und war danach auf dem Pariser Nemo Festival zu sehen.

Die Softwarebibliotheken und Apps von Humatic kommen in der Medizintechnik, im Fernsehen, in der Industrie, in Aufnahmestudios und vielen anderen Bereichen zum Einsatz. TouchDAW, eine MIDI Control App für Android, wird von Tausenden von Audioprofis genutzt.

 

Auf den Olympus Perspective Playgrounds zeig(t)en Humatic die Installation:

Köln 2016, Barcelona und Kopenhagen 2017:
 „EyeCatcher“

Die Installation „EyeCatcher“ feiert die Schönheit und Einzigartigkeit der menschlichen Iris und reflektiert über die zunehmende Bedeutung von Systemen, die autonom biometrische Daten verarbeiten, im Alltag moderner Industriegesellschaften.

Der Betrachter sieht sich einem technischen Apparat gegenüber, der weitgehend automatisiert Aufnahmen von der Iris freiwilliger Probanden anfertigt, diese prozessiert und in ein System einspeist, das die freigestellten Aufnahmen großflächig projiziert.

Die übergroße Projektion bietet eine eigenwillige Perspektive auf das Auge und eine spannende Kulisse, um sich in diesem „Augenblick“ zu fotografieren.

 

EyeCatcher Media Installation creators and participants:
Software Development by Humatic
Concepts and Production by Humatic in collaboration with Nils Peters, Christian Graupner,  Eva Pech, Moritz Mattern, Max Krueger & Peter Knabl

Installation Photos Copyright: diephotodesigner.de, Alícía Rey Peroy
Visualisation Moritz Mattern (c) Humatic 2016